Formula to calculate day of the month

Excelteacher21

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Please help a teacher. It's my first year teaching Excel. Found an article where it explains how to calculate Thanksgiving date in any given year using the formula =DATE(Y,M,1+7*Nth)-WEEKDAY(DATE(Y,M,8-DoW). I want to teach this to my students TOMORROW but can't remember why 1+7. Where do we get that or why do we use that? And where do we get the "8" in 8-DoW). All other parts of the formula I understand and can explain to my students. I passed certification in 2013 but my Excel is rusty. If anyone could answer those 2 questions, I'd appreciate it.

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Hi & welcome to MrExcel.
Not sure what the Nth or DoW represent, but I would simply use this formula
Excel Formula:
=WORKDAY.INTL(DATE(2021,12,1),-1,"1110111")
which will find the last Thursday of the month.

Upvote 0
Hi & welcome to MrExcel.
Not sure what the Nth or DoW represent, but I would simply use this formula
Excel Formula:
=WORKDAY.INTL(DATE(2021,12,1),-1,"1110111")
which will find the last Thursday of the month.
Nth is a 1, 2, 3, or 4 for the first, second, third, or fourth day of the month. DoW is the weekday number with Sunday being 1, Monday being 2, etc. Code is not part of the curriculum, so I'd rather teach the formula, but thank you for your reply.

Upvote 0
What I suggested is a formula & not code. ;)

Upvote 0
Hi Excelteacher21,

So for Thanksgiving we want the fourth Thursday of November.

The first part of the formula calculates the last possible date range. The second part calculates what to subtract from that given the day of the week we're looking for.

If we substitute Nth in 1+(7*Nth) with the 5 possible values (never more than 5 days of the week in a month) then we get: 8, 15, 22, 29, 36. For the fourth we therefore get 1+(7*4)=29