From a form create a new record in another table then add pk of new record in form field?

mesb032870

I am new so sorry if this does not sound tech enough, I am not a professional in anyway and I could use some help from some of you that obviously brilliant at this....

I have a simple table that tracks incoming documents from a client to start a clock for response. I have a form that my admin enters these documents into. For each type of document I have a separate table to track the many, many types of documents then send. For example “Letter”, “Response”, “Notice” and many others.

What I would like to do is provide the form with a series of buttons for each type of document (let’s use “letters” for now) that would add the “letter” to the proper table and then update the current incoming document record with the PK from the “letter” table.

The idea is that she would enter the new document, it would create the new “letter” record and then when she was finished and wanted to access the new “letter” she could just go to that form and take the next step in the workflow.

Would be happy to provide table info if needed but I wanted to see if that kind of pass back and forth was possible or if there is just a better idea. My admin is super smart but we handle a lot each day and going from table to table, excel sheet to excel sheet is a waste of her talents and I don’t trust anyone else to get this right.

Thanks for reading this.

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
I have a form that my admin enters these documents into
What does this mean, storing the document in an Access table? Not advisable.
For each type of document I have a separate table