Generating New Lines Based On Lookup

alphabet1111

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi! This is my first time on MrExcel, and I'm also new to VBA. I have a rather specific task I need to accomplish in Excel:
  • I am working with two tables
    • A large dataset (~160k lines) with various descriptive columns, as well as the obligated spend in various years (2016-2020)
      • One of the descriptive columns is the code column, called "CODE"
    • A table that maps each CODE to a certain market segment - we'll call that column "SEGMENT"
      • Some of the CODE values map to multiple SEGMENTs
      • If a CODE maps to multiple segments, each segment has an associate % comprising the CODE (for example - Code1 might map to Segment1-40% and Segment2-60%)
  • I would like to map each line in the dataset to a particular SEGMENT by creating a new segment column in the dataset with the assigned segment. If one of the data rows has a CODE that maps to multiple SEGMENTs, what I would like to do is:
    • Duplicate the data row N times for the N segments that the code maps to
    • Multiply ONLY the spend lines by the percentage associated with each segment, and label each of the new lines with the corresponding segment
    • (If the CODE maps to just one segment, just simply assign the existing line to the segment)
Is this possible to do in PowerQuery or VBA?

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Hi and welcome to MrExcel,

To answer your question: both is possible. So it's just what you prefer.

A power BI solution is quit simple, I dropped a quick example-file see this link .
If you want a VBA solution we need more info on the way your tables are structured.

If you want the VBA solution, please provide the information on both table using XL2BB. More information on that to be found here

Hope this helps