Getting the right chart legend

JenniferMurphy

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,438
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a table of proficiency ratings (0-1) showing how they can be converted to an inverse scale with a damping factor. The headers in Row 3 show the factors.
C/RCDEF
3RF=0.5F=1.0F=2.0
41.000.000.000.00
50.900.320.100.01
60.800.450.200.04
70.700.550.300.09
80.600.630.400.16
90.500.710.500.25
100.400.770.600.36
110.300.840.700.49
120.200.890.800.64
130.100.950.900.81
140.001.001.001.00

<tbody>
</tbody>

I want to graph this table to show a line for each column (D, E, F). If I select C4:F14, I get the correct graph, but the legend labels are Series 1, Series 2, & Series 3.

If I select C3:F14, the graph is all screwed up. The X axis goes from 0 to 14, I assume because it takes Col B to be the X values, even though I didn't select it. The Y axis goes from -0.5 to 2.5, I assume because it takes Row 3 as data. And the legend still says Series 1 to Series 4.

The actual data in D3:F3 is 0.5, 1.0, & 2.0. The headers are generated using a custom format. This allows me to use those cells in the formulas below. But even it I get rid of the custom formats and just have the numbers in those cells, the graph looks the same including the legend.

Is there a way to get a graph that uses Row 3 as the labels, Col C (C4:C14) as the X values and Cols DEF as the Y values?

PS: I would post the graphs themselves, but I don't know how to do that without saving then to a file and then uploading that to Dropbox or somewhere? Why can't I just paste an image?
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney

Trouttrap2

Well-known Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
612
You can try this. First delete the cell contents in C3, meaning the R. Then highlight the C3:F14. That should put the X axis values found in C3:C14 and the series should be F=.5, F=1.0, F=2.0.
 

JenniferMurphy

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,438
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
You can try this. First delete the cell contents in C3, meaning the R. Then highlight the C3:F14. That should put the X axis values found in C3:C14 and the series should be F=.5, F=1.0, F=2.0.

Wow, that worked. What's the rule? Am I not allowed to have a title over the X column? I kinda need it for when I paste the actual table in a document along with the graph.

Thanks very much.
 

JenniferMurphy

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,438
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
PS: I just discovered that I can replace the "R" after the graph is created. So do I need to delete it just long enough to create the graph?
 

Trouttrap2

Well-known Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
612
Yes, you can put the R back. I should have said so. Anytime you are making a line chart Excel needs to know what the X axis is going to be. One quick way is leaving the Xaxis column header blank.
 

JenniferMurphy

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,438
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Yes, you can put the R back. I should have said so. Anytime you are making a line chart Excel needs to know what the X axis is going to be. One quick way is leaving the Xaxis column header blank.
It would be handy if Excel would assume that the first column is the independent variable and use the header as the variable name. In this case, it would become the R axis.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,126,931
Messages
5,621,661
Members
415,849
Latest member
PhoenixRising2015

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top