bearcub

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2013
  3. 2010
  4. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a report that is grouped by "expression". Their are 4 groupings and each group has a number from 1 to 4. the first grouping is grouped by the expression "=4". The second grouping is grouped on the expression "=2". The 3rd grouping, the expression is "=3" and the 4th grouping is "=1".

How do you create these expressions so you can group on them. I thought that you group on fields (I'm new to Access) but you can apparently group on an expression.

In report view, the headers are labeled like this:
=4 Header
=2 Header
=3 Header
=1 Header

How does Access create these headers?

Thank you for your help,

Michael

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Since you have the groups, it sounds like you created them ... but you also seem surprised that they are there now, which is a little confusing. Do you want these groups? Did you create them? If so, how did you create them? What exactly do you mean by an expression? For instance, 'where Dept = 101' is an expression in the statement select * from Departments where Dept = '101'. But most people wouldn't call that grouping on an expression. They'd just say grouping by Dept. If your headers are labeled =1, =2, and so on, it's probably because they have not been given more meaningful names, that's all.

Reports offer a wealth of grouping, layout, labeling, and summarizing features that go far beyond the simple mechanics of a sql query. Try to separate out what comes from your data (this is what you should know very well yourself) and what is just the presentation features (which is what your users want to be familiar with, whether or not they understand the source data).

Upvote 0