Help: Auto colour cell based on input in another cell

Sha

Office Version
  1. 2013
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi out there,

i am trying to get the col J (date) to change colour after a certain number of days if cell F (date) is empty. Below are my codes. Could anyone tell me what i am doing wrong. Please do bare with me as i am really new at VBA.

VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

If Target.Cells.Value > 0 Then Exit Sub

Set xRg = Intersect(Range("F1:F3000"), Target)

If xRg Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

If IsNumeric(Target.Value) And Target.Value = "" Then

Call HighlightCells

End If

End Sub

Sub HighlightCells()

Dim dtrg As Range: Set dtrg = Range("J1:J3000")

Dim dtCell As Range

For Each dtCell In dtrg.Cells

If dtCell.Value <> "" And dtCell.Value < Date - 40 Then _

dtCell.Interior.ColorIndex = 3

'End If

Next dtCell

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Could anyone tell me what i am doing wrong.
Has something gone wrong? What is it? Are you getting an error message and if so, what is the error number and error description?
Alternatively, if it's a matter of not getting the expected result, can you please give an example of the expected result and the actual result.

Also, as a separate point, have you considered using conditional formatting? This is the sort of thing it was designed to do.

Upvote 0
Has something gone wrong? What is it? Are you getting an error message and if so, what is the error number and error description?
Alternatively, if it's a matter of not getting the expected result, can you please give an example of the expected result and the actual result.

Also, as a separate point, have you considered using conditional formatting? This is the sort of thing it was designed to do.
HI there,

I have redone the code as below but i get an error message saying "Can't execute code in break mode".