help designing a sheet.

crusader8463

Hi all, I’m going to try and explain my predicament as simply as possible in hopes to get some help. What I’m doing is all the book work for my father’s business. He does service calls to change tires on tractor trailers. So what I’m taxed with, is to take the bills he has for each service call, input them all into excel for each individual person, then total which bills people have or have not paid him. Simple I’m sure, but I’m a total beginner to excel and for the life of me can’t figure out a template I can use to just keep plugging in the numbers from all these receipts.

What I need the sheet to do:

<!--[if !supportLists]-->1.<!--[endif]-->Rows containing; Costumers name, invoice number, date of service, subtotal, tax, total, and whether or not they have paid yet.
<!--[if !supportLists]-->2.<!--[endif]-->I then need to take that data and group it to see how much each person still owes, which individual bills they have paid, and which individual bills they have yet to pay.
<!--[if !supportLists]-->3.<!--[endif]-->Then take all that data from each separate bill statement, and make an account balance for each person he does work for.

I had already done this for over a year’s worth of work he did. But after all the data was in, for the life of me I couldn’t think of a way to do step 2-3. The problem is that on some jobs he does, the people will pay him upfront, in which case he marks paid on the bill. But other times they will send him a check in the mail 1-3+ months later and some times not for the full amount they owe. Now I have a list of all those checks he receives, but I can’t find a simple way to subtract those checks from what people still owe him.