***help?? formula across multiple sheets!!!

ttroake87

ok, im fairly new to excel and i dont know all the names of the functions beyond =SUM lol. im usually pretty good at puzzling out via trial and error using common sense to get the formula i need, but im in a rut right now and cant seem to figure out what i think to be a fairly simple problem.

ill word my problem as obviously as possible.

i have a workbook (i think thats what its called, lets just call it an "excel file" for now), i have an excel file for every month of the year, in each of these files i have a worksheet for every day of the month.

im imputting gas prices and litres sold for my gas station into each worksheet according to the days sales.

row A1 is the opening sales and row a2 is the closing sales

row a4 is the opening litres and row a5 is the closing litres.

normally at the end of the day we would input the sales into b2,c2,d2...k2
and the litres into b5,c5,d5...k5

then we would manually go to the next worksheet and input the closing numbers from the previous worksheet into the opening fields for the following day.

its tedious, and needless im sure.

ive been able to dabble out the formula =SUM(sheet1!A2) i put this formula into sheet 2 under A1 and it works perfectly, simply transcribing whatever was in the previous CLOSING field into the next days OPENING field. simple.

i am stuck here. i can not think of how to transfer this formula to all 30 worksheets for each month without manually changing the sheet1 to sheet2,3,4,5,6, etc in the formula.

in mathematics it would look like this.

n - representing any given selected worksheet

=SUM(sheet n-1!A2)

meaning, this cell equals cell A2 of the preceding worksheet.

that way i could paste and expand that formula in every worksheet and TADA no more needing to manually re-type in the numbers a second time.

but of course i dont know how to word that in excel langauge....

ANY HELP?