Help needed to create complex timesheet in Excel 2016

Shazia03

Hi All

I'm new to the forum an Excel. I employ a number of carers that I’ve got to create a timesheet for. Yes I’m disabled and have a number of carers that work different shifts at different rates for me. I used to do it by hand but find it difficult to write now. So I'm trying to computerise it.

I've got to create an excel timesheet spreadsheet. Now I’m new to Excel 2016 Mac and am teaching myself with a book.
I can do very basic stuff but creating timesheets is beyond me and my book.

I was hoping someone with more experience is kind enough to help me.

I need to include the time they started, the finish time and the total hours for the day. The timesheet needs to show that there are 2
different shifts day and night. Each shift has a different pay rate £9 and £10.50.
Now if it's a bank holiday the pay rate is doubled.
I need to be able to show sick leave and vacation leave.
And finally calculate the total hours for the month and pay for each shift, sick or vacation leave.

WHERE DO I EVEN START!!!

I’ve sort of started but it’s not good if I’m doing all the calculations in my head. I’ve tried to upload it as attachment but it’s not working.

Please can someone help me.

Thanks
Shazia03

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Happy to help.

1) how much do you want to automate; i.e. do you want the spreadsheet to 'know' that the shift is a day or night shift or will you be happy to put in "day" or "night"?
2) likewise for the bank holidays
3) are you happy with vlookup? This would be the easiest way to have the sheet put in the rate:
a) for a given shift you have either a calculation or a manual entry which puts "day" / "night" / "Bank holiday" into a column (lets say column D).