Help Please - Database stopped working

brumby

Hiya,

I really could do with some help. I am a complete novice on Access, so please excuse me.

My Wife's business has had 3 new computers installed as the old ones were just about to pack up. There is a customer & stock database held on the main computer set up as a server, this computer is housed out of the way, for the last 2 months the databases have worked fine.

There are another 2 computers which access the database from the server, this is in the main showroom where updates are made and records added.

Yesterday, the 2 computers would not open up the database's and the following error messages came up.

The Microsoft Office Access database engine cannot open or write to the file '\\Ian\backup\SCOTSTOC\scootback.mdb'. It is already opened exclusively by another user, or you need permission to view and write its data

The Microsoft Office Access database engine cannot open or write to the file '\\Ian\backup\CUSTDATA\custdatamdb'. It is already opened exclusively by another user, or you need permission to view and write its data

We don't think anything has changed, does anyone have any idea's whats happened??

Many Many Thanks!!!!!

Excel Facts

Who is Mr Spreadsheet?
Author John Walkenbach was Mr Spreadsheet until his retirement in June 2019.
Very possible that the database has been corrupted.
You can open the main database (if you can) directly and try the compact/repair utility.

In my version of Access that would be Database Tools > Compact and Repair Database

If you CANNOT open the database, you can also use the compact/repair utility by
Openining Microsoft Access through the Start Menu (i.e. not opening an actual database but the Access program itself)
Run the Compact/Repair Utility (using the method I stated above)
Since no database is currently open, you will be prompted for the location of the file you want to repair.