HELP PLEASE! Looking to create a "Mandatory Overtime" list that rotates after the employee is held for a shift.

DevinB

Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2021
  3. 2016
  4. 2013
  5. 2007
  6. 2003 or older
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello. I am new to the forum. I have spent about a week looking for answers and trying to solve this issue on my own. I am fairly well-versed with Excel... more so than a "general user"; however, I have little experience with coding and VBA.

I have attached a mini-sheet of my list; it's pretty basic.

There are only 2 columns that I am concerned with that will need some type of conditional sorting and/or formatting... the Employee and Date Held columns. The third column is irrelevant since the employee will rotate to the bottom of the list whether they are held on overtime or volunteer for overtime.

As you can see the Employee list is in alphabetical order. This is our starting point for this new way of handling mandatory overtime.

When an employee on the list is held for overtime, the date they are held is entered into the column next to their name. When that date is entered, I need them to rotate to the bottom of the list. Thus having the next alphabetical (A-Z) employee that has not been held (no date beside their name) at the top of the list.

Sure, I can use the "sort" feature in the date column, but I want the employees that have a date beside their name grouped at the bottom of the list in an order that reflects the oldest held (by date) at the top of that group.

Once every person has been held or volunteered to work and subsequently has a date beside their name, I can just sort the Date Held column. But I have users that may not know (or remember) to manually sort the list before they print and post the list. I'd like that to be automatic.

If anyone can help, I'd be greatly appreciative. I know this may be complex, but I'm willing to work with whoever can help.

Sample Overtime List.xlsx
ABCDEF
1Mandatory Overtime List
2ALSBLS