Help with creating excel function

Sujit12

Hey Guys,

I am very new to creating functions using Microsoft VBA and hence need your help for the same.

I want to create a function which should perform the operation mentioned below.

Function IDW(StartValue, EndValue, CurrentPoint)

IDW = (StartValue * (Row(EndValue) - Row(CurrentPoint)) + EndValue * (Row(CurrentPoint) - Row(StartValue)) / (Row(EndValue) - Row(StartValue))

Kindly help how to proceed?

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Hey,

The aim is to create a function for inverse distance weighting interpolation. It is used for gap filling of environmental parameters.

Consider this sequence 3,4, , , ,6 with three missing values between 4 and 6. IDW function's output will be these three values. Here 4 is the start value and 6 is the end value. Current point may be any of the three missing points.

In an excel sheet, if the arrangement is like below:

_
_
_

then interpolated value of first missing point will be =
(4 * (Row position of 6 - Row position of first missing point) + 6 * (Row position of first missing point - Row position of 4) )/ (Row position of 6 - Row position of 4)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hey,

The aim is to create a function for inverse distance weighting interpolation. It is used for gap filling of environmental parameters.

Consider this sequence 3,4, , , ,6 with three missing values between 4 and 6. IDW function's output will be these three values. Here 4 is the start value and 6 is the end value. Current point may be any of the three missing points.

I am a little confused about usage of ROW function in your original post. Because ROW will give integer.

Moreover, do you wish to know 3 missing points or just a value based on your formula ?

I have put your calculation in this function as per my understanding of your problem.

Code: