highlight cells with a value within 3 of other cells on the row

cspgsl

Board Regular
I am no Excel expert so I am looking to see if this is possible.

I have a table like you see here. On each row, I want to conditionally highlight any two cells in the Daily Yardage columns with the same colour if the values are within 3 of any other cell in any other Daily Yardage column within the same row.

In other words, I want to compare the values in G6, M6, S6, Y6 and AE6 and if any values are within 3 of another, change the colour on the two cells that are within 3.

I have manually done it here but the table is actually 31 rows (for a month) and I am trying different scenarios in each of the Tee and Hole columns.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

excel.png

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
How about

=COUNTIFS($G$4:$AE$4,"Daily Yardage",$G6:$AE6,">="&(G6-3),$G6:$AE6,"<="&(G6+3))>1

as a conditional format rule applied to $G$6:$AE$36

Probably not the most efficient method, but should be the easiest one to set up.

Upvote 0
Thanks Jason. As I said, I am not very adept at the more powerful features of Excel. It's never been a big part of my life.

Can you give me the steps I would need to take to add this? Do I have to name a range of columns Daily Yardage?

Upvote 0
Sure, no named range needed, the formula will look at the column headings.

Start by selecting the range to highlight with your mouse by clicking on G6, then holding the left mouse button and dragging to AE36.

Next, select 'Conditional Formatting' on the excel 'Home' tab, then from the options shown, choose 'New Rule'

From the options in the new box, select 'Use a formula to determine which cells to format.

Enter the formula from post 2 into the empty box.

Click the 'Format' button, then choose your highlight colour on the 'Fill' tab.

Click OK twice to finish.

Upvote 0