How can I make VBA loop through a column and for every cell index-match + copy the value from an auxiliary sheet?

klovink001

Hi everyone,

Im relatively new to VBA, and struggling a bit with the syntax. Hope someone can help!

What im trying to do is this: I have 3 sheets im working with, lets call them sheet1, sheet2 and sheet3. Sheet 1 is input data in which I want to look up a value, for every row in sheet 2. Sheet 3 is the auxiliary (Aux) sheet where I want to do the index-match, and afterwards copy the value to the relevant row on sheet 2. Sheet 2 has over 40.000 rows, so I let i run untill 50.000 to be sure.

This is what I have now:

Code:
 Sub Loop3()'
' Loop3 Macro
'

'
Dim i As Integer
Dim startrow As Integer

startrow = 10
i = 0

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

Do While i < 50000
    Worksheets("Aux").Activate
    Worksheets("Aux").Range("G7").Select
    ActiveCell.ClearContents
    ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _
        "=INDEX('Sheet1'!R10C2:R4403C6,MATCH('Sheet2'!R[3+i]C[-5],'Sheet1'!R[3]C[-5]:R[4396]C[-5],0),4)"
    Worksheets("Aux").Range("G7").Select
    Selection.Copy
    Worksheets("Sheet2").Range("AU" & startrow + i).Select
    ActiveCell.Paste
    i = i + 1
    Loop

End Sub

Unfortunately im getting the following error: 'Run-time error '1004': Application defined or object defined error'. The script breaks at the line with the INDEX-formula.

This might be a relatively common mistake im making, but again Im not yet experienced is this business. Any ideas?

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
Untested, but try
Code:
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = _
        "=INDEX('Sheet1'!R10C2:R4403C6,MATCH('Sheet2'!R[" & 3 + i & "]C[-5],'Sheet1'!R[3]C[-5]:R[4396]C[-5],0),4)"

Upvote 0
Thanks! that seems to be working.