How Do I Delete a Massive Amount of Information On An Excel Page

zotah

Board Regular
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
89
How Do I Delete a Massive Amount of Information On An Excel Page.

I have rows 1-8800 with information I don't want to delete.

I have rows 8801 to 145,000 with information I do want to delete completely

If I highlight 8801 and drag it down to row 145,000 and then right click and delete the information it will takes me over 20 minutes to delete this information.

Is there a simple faster way to delete this information without dragging it down the page and slowing waiting for everything to get highlighted and then deleteing it.

Thanks
Zotah
 

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,892
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
try
Code:
Sub delem()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Rows("8801:145000").EntireRow.Delete
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub
 

zotah

Board Regular
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
89
F5 and select the appropriate range
XL 13 64 Bit

Can you help me understand what you mean by select the appropriate range?

I'm trying to be able to select the appropriate range of cells without dragging it down the page to highlight it for 20 minutes. Can you help me understand how I can select the appropriate range area without having to manually select it?

Thanks

Zotah
 
Last edited:

zotah

Board Regular
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
89

ADVERTISEMENT

try
Code:
Sub delem()
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Rows("8801:145000").EntireRow.Delete
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Where do I put this code to get the job completed?

thanks
Zotah
 

zotah

Board Regular
Joined
Feb 1, 2014
Messages
89
F5 and select the appropriate range
XL 13 64 Bit

I'm not understanding you when you say select the appropriate range? Can I select this huge range of cells without highlighting for 20 minutes down the page?

Thanks,
Zotah
 

marious

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
221

ADVERTISEMENT

Yes, F5 and just type 88101:145000
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,892
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Paste the code in "This Workbook" module
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
20,892
Office Version
  1. 2016
  2. 2013
  3. 2007
Platform
  1. Windows
Follow these steps

1. Copy the code
2. Open your workbook
3. Press the keys ALT + F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor
4. Press the keys ALT + I to activate the Insert menu
5. Press M to insert a Standard Module
6. Where the cursor is flashing, paste the code by pressing the keys CTRL + V
7. Press the keys ALT + Q to exit the Editor, and return to Excel
8. To run the macro from Excel, open the workbook, and press ALT + F8 to display the Run Macro Dialog. Double Click the macro's name to Run it.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,141,284
Messages
5,705,495
Members
421,398
Latest member
Rahat Anwar

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top