How do I format an individual column in a table ?

excelhunk

I have a table with a large amount of data. I am wanting to change the format of individual columns so that they have their own unique style from the rest of the information in the table.

Most of my table is format in an orange color. Darker for header and then the rows with an alternating a lighter shade and no fill. I would like to make a few of the columns though hi-lighted or even formatted in a green color scheme.

Is this possible to do without using Macros. I have very little experience with Macros, plus this spreadsheet is being shared though a shared OneCloud file online. I have had trouble getting Macros to work in the online Excel platform. I also don't understand Macros completely and like it when I get an answer though forums that I actually understand what I am doing so I can use the information in a different scenario if possible.

Thank you for your assistance my Excel Kinsman.

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.
If the logic for highlighting the non-standard columns, rows, or whatever, can be explained in a formula that returns True or False, then you can use conditional formatting to automatically trigger your desired highlighting. It will override the regular table formatting.
If you can explain in words what the rule is, you can probably get plenty of help translating that into the criteria formula for you conditional formatting.

I hope this helps.

Ken

Upvote 0
I have tried that. Here are my columns and then I will explain the issue I am running into with conditional formatting.

| Date | Customer | Revenue | Lead Name | Lead Comp% |Lead $| Labor1 Name | Labor1 Comp% | Labor1 $ |Labor2 Name | Labor2 Comp% | Labor2 $ |Total %
| 11/12 | Johnson | $2000 | Bill | 10% | $200 | Phil | 5% | $100 | Mark | 3% | $60 | 18%