How do you use an If Statement for a number in a Text formatted cell

Modify_inc

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Ok, I love using the IF Statement, it's very powerful and versatile, but I have a question as I'm still learning how to use it in Excel.

I have a column of data (E4:E29) that goes like this:
8=D
3=A
1=W
0=V
0=Q
etc.. for all letters in the alphabet, so 26 times, and it's always randomly generated, so 8=D could change to 0=D the next time around.

All I want to do is hide or NOT display any data that starts with a 0. So 0=V and 0=Q in this instance, needs not be displayed.

Since theses cells are formatted using Text, how can I use an If Statement to determine if the first letter = 0?

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
How about
Excel Formula:
=if(left(e4)="0","y","n")

Upvote 0
How about
Excel Formula:
That was quick!

I was just about to post, I figured out a way almost by using Conditional Formatting using similar code and just making the cell all white:
=LEFT(E4,1)="0"
But because I use the =MOD(ROW(),2)=0 to make each other row white and grey, they still show on the grey rows

I will try your suggestion, though do you know an easy way around the issue above?

Upvote 0
You would need two rules, you can use your existing rule for the white cells & then use
Excel Formula:
=and(left(e4)="0",mod(row(),2)=0)
for the grey cells

Upvote 0
How about
Excel Formula:

That was quick!

I was just about to post, I figured out a way almost by using Conditional Formatting using similar code and just making the cell all white:
=LEFT(E4,1)="0"
But because I use the =MOD(ROW(),2)=0 to make each other row white and grey, they still show on the grey rows

I will try your suggestion, though do you know an easy way around the issue above?