How to Add new records in related table

fayez_MrExcel

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have an EmpMaster table and SalaryMaster details with a "enforce referential integrity" and "cascade Update related fields". And i also create a query of Q_Empmaster. Note: Primary key employee number.

My question is: Why is that whe i entere new records in EmpMaster it does not automatically update or add the new number i entered. Example I add new employee number 10009 in EmpMaster, but when i open the SalaryMaster and Q_EmpMaster the new employee 10009 is not there..

Help please

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
You won't get a Salary record just because you added an Employee record. You will need to create a Salary record using the new EmployeeID.

The referential integrity ensures that you cannot create a salary record for an employee whose ID is not already in the system, but it does not create the downstream records for you. You will also find that, once you have created a Salary record for an Employee, you will be unable to delete the Employee without first deleting the Salary record(s) for that Employee.

Denis

Upvote 0
Sir but what about the Query that i make...i used the same EmpMaster table in my query. I believe that what ever table is inlcuded in the query should be automatically updated right? but why my EmpMaster table inside the query does not include the last employee which was entered in the EmpMaster table..

Upvote 0
It depends on how you built the query. If it is based entirely on the EmpMaster table, you should get the new employee record. If it is based on a join between EmpMaster and SalaryMaster, you will not see a record until there is a matching Salary record.