How to change forum to old theme?

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
We've always had profile pics, though admittedly, these are larger.
As for software version, I don't remember that being a profile option before
 

DRSteele

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
2,048
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
The simple solution to the artificially-enlarged profile pictures that look crappy is to simply re-upload the photo. See how nice mine is now?
 

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
so it would be nice to see option like that
We are open to suggestions, though something like that is a custom feature, which we create ourselves (for security reasons).
I will add your request to the list for discussion. I know it's been brought up in the past, but times have changed.
But for now - we're more worried with board stability and ease of posting and responding. So it may be a little while.
 

sandy666

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
3,826
but what about Reply without quote?
 

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
What do you mean?
 

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
no option for normal Reply
You just start typing in the Reply box at the bottom of the page...
 

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
What do you mean?
ok.. looking through things...
1. There is a Reply box at the bottom of the page - no quote
2. You can highlight part of someone's reply - you get a reply button which will quote what you highlighted
3. each post has a reply button, if you use that, it quotes the reply

I haven't used #3... do you use it often? I read through an entire thread before I answer, but if I'm replying to something in the middle, I would highlight first what I"m answering.. else, without the quote, it may not make sense when read in order.
 

sandy666

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2015
Messages
3,826
You just start typing in the Reply box at the bottom of the page...
I know that but most users , especially new, don't know that. if they see Reply they hit it and make a mish-mash in thread. They treat this as mail answer

I used Reply With Quote if I want to show particular part of text (post#13), most often - without quotes
 
Last edited:

starl

Administrator
Joined
Aug 16, 2002
Messages
5,888
Office Version
365, 2019
Platform
Windows
I'm thinking the way it's setup makes sense (see my previous post to why). True, having long posts quoted will be a pita, but it's a chance to educate. We'll see how much a problem it becomes and if so, can discuss what to do (again, we're talking custom code for the board. And the more we have, the more difficult it can be to apply updates/patches)
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,323
Messages
5,364,579
Members
400,809
Latest member
formulasataglance

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top