How to continually connect to an Excel sheet that gets overwritten by another process/user

hvnsmeet

Hello everybody!

I guess the subject line is kind of confusing, so I will try and explain:

• I have a server where I have a timed subscription that in every x minutes it will send a report (Excel format) to a path on my network drive. Let's call this path '\\server1\andrew\'
    I have it set up so that the server overwrites the old versions of my reports with new versions.

• I have an Excel Workbook where I use data connections to import the reports from the aforementioned server. Ideally, I wanted this workbook to perpetually refresh or even manually refresh with the the newest version of the reports.
Now, my connection looks like:
Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;User ID=Admin;Data Source=\\server1\andrew\reportTest.xls;Mode=Share Deny None;Extended Properties="HDR=YES;";Jet OLEDB:System database="";Jet OLEDB:Registry Path="";Jet OLEDB:Engine Type=35;Jet OLEDB:Database Locking Mode=0;Jet OLEDB:Global Partial Bulk Ops=2;Jet OLEDB:Global Bulk Transactions=1;Jet OLEDB:New Database Password="";Jet OLEDB:Create System Database=False;Jet OLEDB:Encrypt Database=False;Jet OLEDB:Don't Copy Locale on Compact=False;Jet OLEDB:Compact Without Replica Repair=False;Jet OLEDB:SFP=False;Jet OLEDB:Support Complex Data=False

I get no problems finding the files, so that's fine...But when the interval comes for the server to update it, I will get an alert from the server saying that it failed to write over the old file because it is in use by another process (I imagine that process being the data connection). Because I believe that I am perpetually connected and therefore using the Excel file that it wants to replace, it fails.