How to convert column A to header

stevec883

Hello, I am trying to Transpose and entire worksheet with repeated values in column A (4 repeating columns) and I want to transpose this (corresponding text value in column B) to rows (of 4 cells). I have thousands, so can't repeatedly copy and paste using the Transpose paste feature. Is there an easy way to link the data in A to the text value in B, and they transpose it?

So

A1=one B1=apple
A2=two B2=orange
A3=thr B3=grape
A4=fou B4=fruit
A5=one B5=food
A6=two B6=drink
A7=thr B7=salad
A8=fou B8=bread

To this:
one two thr fou
apple orange grape fruit
food drink salad bread

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
For the layout you showed... put the headers in cells B1:F1, then put this formula in cell B2 and copy it across to F2, then copy B2:F2 down...

=IFERROR(INDEX($B$1:$B$8,4*ROWS($2:2)-3+COLUMNS($B:B)-1),"")

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks Rick --- I'm pretty new to excel, so having trouble implementing. I have data in B column, so wouldn't I start my headers in "C"? This is what I'm trying to achieve --- The original "A" column repeats, so that will be my header in result.

NameFred
Source dirC:\log1
Target dirD:\Res1
EdgeWEBServ
NameTom
Source dirC:\Tom's file
Target dirD:\Different
EdgeHostname

<tbody>
</tbody>
NameSource dirTarget dirEdge
FredC:\log1D:\Res1WEBServ
TomC:\Tom's FileD:\DifferentHostname

<tbody>
</tbody>

****** id="cke_pastebin" style="position: absolute; top: 74.4px; width: 1px; height: 1px; overflow: hidden; left: -1000px;">
C:\log1

<tbody>
</tbody>
</body>

Upvote 0
Thanks Rick --- I'm pretty new to excel, so having trouble implementing. I have data in B column, so wouldn't I start my headers in "C"? This is what I'm trying to achieve --- The original "A" column repeats, so that will be my header in result.

NameFred
Source dirC:\log1
Target dirD:\Res1
EdgeWEBServ
NameTom
Source dirC:\Tom's file
Target dirD:\Different
EdgeHostname