Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
Hi

I'm new to this forum so hi :) from me and I hope you are fine.

I'm using a spreadsheet which uses an excel template. I've saved the templates as book.xlxt and sheet.xltx to my %appdata%\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART folder so that this spreadsheet always creates the same template worksheet when I insert another one. The template works absolutely fine when I load excel and the template loads great when I create a new worksheet.

Anyway, sometimes I just want to use a blank worksheet without all the template formatting getting in the way - just to make seperate notes on something (I work in IT so sometimes there is a big error stack that I want copy and paste without clustering up my template)

For example, if I create a new worksheet then the template loads up as expected and if I just want a blank worksheet to play about on (to make seperate notes), I have to highlight all the cells to delete them, re-add all the borders to the cells and resize the cell widths and heights.

Anyway know how to override the template so I can just insert a blank worksheet whenever I need one please?

Kind Regards
Matt

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
You could create another template, and put it into your templates folder. By default, this is \Documents\Custom Office Templates, but I change it in File > Options > Save to \AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Templates. This template is completely blank, and you should call it something like blank.xltx.

To insert a blank sheet instead of your default sheet, right-click on a sheet tab, select Insert..., then select the blank template from the dialog.

InsertSheet75.png

If you're okay with VBA, you can run this from the Immediate Window to insert a new blank sheet:

ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets.Add Type:=xlWBATWorksheet

or this to create a new blank workbook: