How to develop complex formulas

Jonmo1

MrExcel MVP
I'm still fairly new at excel. I've gotten pretty good at formulas though, and just starting VBA. I thought I would share a process I've worked out for developing complex formulas. This is gonna be pretty long winded, I hope this is the right place for this.

1st thing is to have it clear in your head what you want. And maybe even physically write out in Plain english what you want. Then take very small steps. Write each part of the formula seperately as it's own simple formula. Starting with the simplest, most basic function you want accomplished. Then you can combine those small simple formulas, into one larger more complex formula. I'm going to walk through my thought process developing a pretty complex formula (for me anyway). This is just an example, not every situation will work exactly the same way. But the basic idea is to start with small simple formulas, then combine them into 1 big formula.

Here's The end result formula I came up with :

Code:
=IF(ISERROR(RIGHT(VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE),LEN(VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE))-FIND("(",VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE),1)))=TRUE,"",RIGHT(VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE),LEN(VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE))-FIND("(",VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A:$K,11,FALSE),1)))

Now, my first step was deciding what I wanted. I have a sheet of data with IDs in collumn A. Then collumns B - K have data related to the ID. Collumn K is a Comments field. What I wanted to do was return the comments based on the ID# to another sheet. But I only wanted a PART of the comments. In this case, everything that came after the first (. Not all comments have a ( in it, and I did NOT want those comments returned. The ( can be in random places within the comments. I also want to NOT display the #N/A if the ID# is not found in the table, or Value if it's blank, or there is no (.

It was a pretty daunting task for me as a beginner (maybe intermediate now) excel user.