How to find a specific value using multiple criteria

Roar70

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello! I am a fairly new novice using excel. I find it very interesting, exploring all of the things that can be done with it. But now I find myself over my head.
I have a database that I have created on one of my worksheets and I am trying to extract specific values from certain fields using multiple criterias, one of which are dates. I have tried several different formulas trying to accomplish this with very little luck. I have three different fields that I am trying to match that finds all three matching variables. That phase of the formula works pretty well, but when I include the date field to try and find the latest date that matches the first three variables that will allow me to find the value in the field that contains the information i am looking for, and this is where everything goes wrong.

I have tried Index/Match, Vlookup, Max If and Maxifs formulas with no luck. I am pretty sure that one will work fine if I can put it in a formula that the computer understands.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
How your data look like?
I assume you have three fields with three criterias, one of them is date
Field1, Field2, DateField
The out put range: OutputRange
Assume you want to get the value from OutputRange, where the three criterias match, with the latest date match

=LOOKUP(2,1/(Field1=criteria1)/(Field2=criteria2)/(DateField<=DateCriteria),OutputRange)

If it does not help, try to post image/Xl2BB mini sheet.

Upvote 0
How your data look like?
I assume you have three fields with three criterias, one of them is date
Field1, Field2, DateField
The out put range: OutputRange
Assume you want to get the value from OutputRange, where the three criterias match, with the latest date match