How To Generate All Possible Combinations Of Items From One List

edebe

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi to everybody,

I do have a problem for which I would like to ask your help. I do have a list with decimal number values and I need to calculate all the possible combinations without repetitions.

As you can see in the attached image, I need to calculate not simply 1-element-based combinations, but I need also to calculate all the combinations for 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10-based element combinations.
comb.jpg

I already used the combin function to understand how many combinations I will have. Considering that I have 11 elements, the total of the possible combinations are 2047 (no repetitions):
fig. 2.jpg

Considering that I'm a rookie, I would like to ask you how can I make this operation without loosing too much time. Thank you in Advance for your help!

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
May I ask which is your final goal? Creating the combinations seem to me the way you plan to solve another problem...
Bye

Upvote 0
Hi there, my goal it's just to calculate the value of all the these combinations. Just that.

Upvote 0
Try using the workbook you can download here: CercaCombinaz_V1-308MrEx.xlsm

Put your data in sheet LAVORO, in B2 and below
Put in A4 the sum of your data
Put in A1 the value of A4+1
Press the button "AVVIA"

A form will ask you to set a timeout (default is 60 secs), then press "CEERCA" (search)
This is a "brute force" af all the combination that create the sum set in A4 with the tolerance set in A1; given how we populated A4 and A1 it will return all the combinations