how to improve coding style and move away from hard coding

chopperj

Hi all, <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>
I have been dabbling on and off in the VBA world for about 10 years, but i have had no real formal training thus developed my own style.<o:p></o:p>
As a recent project will demand lots of VBA i want to approach the coding more intelligently. (in 2003)<o:p></o:p>
With this in mind could anyone advise of any online documents or offer any tips / mindset approaches.<o:p></o:p>
Also i would be grateful for a explanation of how the VBA architecture ie workbook <o:p></o:p>
worksheet<o:p></o:p>
modules<o:p></o:p>
etc<o:p></o:p>
I look forward to your responses <o:p></o:p>
Thank you<o:p></o:p>

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Hi all, <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
I have been dabbling on and off in the VBA world for about 10 years, but i have had no real formal training thus developed my own style.<o:p></o:p>
As a recent project will demand lots of VBA i want to approach the coding more intelligently. (in 2003)<o:p></o:p>
With this in mind could anyone advise of any online documents or offer any tips / mindset approaches.<o:p></o:p>
Also i would be grateful for a explanation of how the VBA architecture ie workbook <o:p></o:p>
I look forward to your responses <o:p></o:p>
Thank you<o:p></o:p>

For starters, never reference sheets by their name. Always use their codename. This way if somebody changes one of the sheets' name, your macro will still work. You can find the codename for any sheet in the VBA editor. Look at the left hand VBA Project pane where it has all the sheets listed in a fashion like the "Sheet1 (The_Sheet's_Name)" The Sheet1 here is the codename for the sheet named "The_Sheet's_Name".