How to insert blank row after every nth row?

genetist

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
66
Hi to all,
I want to insert a blank row after every nth row for example after every 10th row. I s there any trick for this or we have to use macros? to insert rows automatically?

Thanks,
Regards,
Genetist
 

rjwebgraphix

Well-known Member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
588
I don't think there's a way to do it without code, but this would do it....

Code:
Sub InsertRowEveryXrows()

Dim rw As Long
Dim lr As Long
Dim cnt As Long
lr = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
rw = 1
cnt = 1
Do
    If cnt = 10 Then
        Rows(rw).Insert Shift:=xlDown
        cnt = 1
    Else
        cnt = cnt + 1
    End If
    rw = rw + 1
Loop While rw <> lr
End Sub
If you want a different count, just change this line....

Code:
    If cnt = 10 Then
to the number of rows you want to insert a row.
 

Michael M

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
18,185
Office Version
2013
Platform
Windows
Also
Code:
Sub InsertRowEveryXrows()
Dim r As Long, lr As Long
lr = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
    For r = 10 To lr Step 10
        Rows(r).Insert Shift:=xlDown
    Next r
End Sub
 

kevatarvind

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
1,039
TRY BELOW CODE ITS ALLOW TO INSERT ROW AS PER YOUR INPUT PROVIDE YOU

Code:
Sub Insert_Row()
Dim my As Integer, ur As Integer
On Error GoTo Getout
ur = InputBox("Enter How Many Row Want to Insert")
my = InputBox("Enter How Many Rows Want to Skip")
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
If my = 0 Or ur = 0 Then Exit Sub
On Error GoTo Getout
Range("A" & 2 + my).Select
Do While ActiveCell.Value <> ""
5 Range(ActiveCell, ActiveCell.Offset(ur - 1, 0)).EntireRow.Insert
ActiveCell.Offset(1 + my + ur - 1, 0).Select
Loop
Getout:
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub
 

rjwebgraphix

Well-known Member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
588
That won't work as intended Michael. Tested on about 980 rows and with each insert the last row goes down by one, that's why I went with a do loop instead of a for loop. You can't recalculate the last row in the middle of a for loop.

Which reminds me.... I forgot the last row recalculation, so this one will work....

Code:
Sub InsertRowEveryXrows()

Dim rw As Long
Dim lr As Long
Dim cnt As Long
lr = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
rw = 1
cnt = 1
Do
    If cnt = 10 Then
        Rows(rw).Insert Shift:=xlDown
        cnt = 1
        lr = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row
    Else
        cnt = cnt + 1
    End If
    rw = rw + 1
Loop While rw <> lr
End Sub
I suppose you could use a for loop counting backwards, but then you'd have to do some calculating to make sure it does it on the correct rows to be every x number rows from the top. It's just easier with the do loop and using count variables, but I've often been proved that easier is not always better. :)
 

rjwebgraphix

Well-known Member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
588
TRY BELOW CODE ITS ALLOW TO INSERT ROW AS PER YOUR INPUT PROVIDE YOU
Sorry Kev, that doesn't work. I entered 1 row every 10 rows in your code and the first row it inserted was row 12, not row 10. The next row was at row 23 then 34, gets off my more and more. Should be 10, 20, 30, 40
 

Trebor76

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
4,467
Hi rjwebgraphix

Try this:

Code:
Option Explicit
Sub Macro1()

    'Written by Trebor76
    'Visit my website www.excelguru.net.au

    Dim lngMyRow As Long
    Dim lngLastRow As Long
    Dim rngMyRange As Range
    
    lngLastRow = Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
    
    For lngMyRow = 10 To lngLastRow Step 10    
        
        If rngMyRange Is Nothing Then
            Set rngMyRange = Cells(lngMyRow, "A")
        Else
            Set rngMyRange = Union(rngMyRange, Cells(lngMyRow, "A"))
        End If
    
    Next lngMyRow
    
    rngMyRange.EntireRow.Insert
    
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
    
    MsgBox "Rows have now been inserted"
        
End Sub
Regards,

Robert
 

kevatarvind

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2013
Messages
1,039
Sorry Kev, that doesn't work. I entered 1 row every 10 rows in your code and the first row it inserted was row 12, not row 10. The next row was at row 23 then 34, gets off my more and more. Should be 10, 20, 30, 40
sorry
rjwebgraphix
in my file daily i am using same code its working fine i dont know why its not working in yours ?
 

rjwebgraphix

Well-known Member
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
588
Hi rjwebgraphix
Try this:
Wasn't my post, just pointing out the flaws in the other codes. The do loop I wrote works. Yours has a similar effect as kev's, where every 10 rows should be inserted at row 10, 20, 30, 40. etc.... yours did 10, 21, 32, 43.

btw, I get a kick out of it whenever I see your posts. My Dad uses a variation of Trebor on dbforums and when I saw you post the first time I thought you were my dad. :) LOL
 

Trebor76

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2007
Messages
4,467
Wasn't my post, just pointing out the flaws in the other codes.
Ah yes, sorry about that.

btw, I get a kick out of it whenever I see your posts. My Dad uses a variation of Trebor on dbforums and when I saw you post the first time I thought you were my dad. LOL
He's name Robert then? Must be a cool guy :cool:

Genetist, try this:

Code:
Option Explicit
Sub Macro1()

    'Written by Trebor76
    'Visit my website www.excelguru.net.au

    Dim lngMyRow As Long
    Dim lngLastRow As Long
    Dim rngMyRange As Range
    
    lngLastRow = Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row
    
    For lngMyRow = 10 To lngLastRow Step 10
    
        If lngMyRow <> 10 Then lngMyRow = lngMyRow - 1
                
        If rngMyRange Is Nothing Then
            Set rngMyRange = Cells(lngMyRow, "A")
        Else
            Set rngMyRange = Union(rngMyRange, Cells(lngMyRow, "A"))
        End If
    
    Next lngMyRow
    
    rngMyRange.EntireRow.Insert
    
    Application.ScreenUpdating = True
    
    MsgBox "Rows have now been inserted"
        
End Sub
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,071
Messages
5,363,006
Members
400,707
Latest member
CriticaIError

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top