How to modify the load behaviour of Excel 2010 add-in (e.g. flexfind)

wormaji

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
22
I'm using Microsoft Excel 2010 and had a few useful add-ins like flex find installed.
https://www.jkp-ads.com/officemarketplaceff-en.asp.However, I do not use these add-ins frequently.
Since it seems that Microsoft excel 2010 loads, these add-ins at start-up and it significantly increases the delay in starting up, I was hoping to make these load only when I need them.

The documentation in Microsoft at https://support.microsoft.com/en-in/help/291392/excel-com-add-ins-and-automation-add-ins says that the load behaviour can be modified by going into the registry.


However, when I go into the same path in the registry, I do not find any mention of these add-ins. Also, another issue is that whenever I wanted to use these add-ins, I had to specifically go and load them manually myself. At the same time, during starting up, I clearly see a message in the splash window stating that these add-ins are being loaded.


So how do I avoid add-ins being loaded at start-up.. (And at the same time, as I stated, it seems that add-ins are really not being loaded because I have to manually load them when I need to use)


Thank you for any inputs
 

Yongle

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
4,651
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
This works for me

At end of day or when you no longer need to use ...
To Unload AddIn
Code:
AddIns("Name of AddIn").Installed = False
To Load AddIn when required
Code:
AddIns("Name of AddIn").Installed = True
 
Last edited:

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,327
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
Flex find is not a COM add-in so you don't need the registry, you can just use the Add-ins dialog to load/unload them.
 

wormaji

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
22
Thank you for your responses.

@RoryA, Thank you for explaining the difference between the C OM and other add-ins. I used to wonder why am not able to start using Flex find immediately after starting Microsoft Excel 2010. Now I understand.


However, now the problem that I see is that even though the add-ins are actually not being loaded, I see them being mentioned in the splash screen of Microsoft Excel. When it is starting up stating that these add-ins are being loaded. And it spends quite a bit of time on loading these add-ins. It is almost 2 minutes that it takes to load the add-ins that are actually not COM.


Is this expected behaviour or is there anything that I can do to prevent the loading of add-ins on starting up of Microsoft Excel?


Thank you for any inputs
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,327
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
You just use the add-ins dialog, as I mentioned, to disable or enable regular add-ins.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,845
Messages
5,361,663
Members
400,643
Latest member
RockStar89

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top