How to Password protect a value with Data Validation

taeschle

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello , I am working to build a PO system in Excel and I am not a programmer at all. I have googled my way through getting a data form to pop up automatically asking for po numbers , date , cost .....ext . I have added data validation to create an error if the cost of the part is over $1000. What I would like to do is be able to enter a password that grants approval to get past the data validation.

Basically i want my parts guy to need me to enter a passwords in the cost cell of the excel sheet in order to enter a value over 1$000

Is this possible.

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
Hi, and welcome to Mr. Excel!

Pretty much anything's possible.

Rather than do the >$1,000 handling at the worksheet end (with data validation), as you're already using code, I'd be inclined to put that process into the code - after data entry, and before it's passed to the worksheet. Presumably, you're using some kind of "Enter Data" button on the userform for this?
Please post your code; you're more likely to get help here, if you post what you already have in place, along with enough detail to enable Folk to give you a solution, without having to ask for more info.

Upvote 0
The only code I have entered in this is

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
ActiveSheet.ShowDataForm
End Sub

All its doing is prompting a popup window for data entry

Upvote 0
1630516995003.png
This is my data input its opening. I would liketo require password approvalin order to enter a value of over 1000 into the cost tab

Upvote 0
Having originally said that "...Pretty much anything's possible" I'd not noticed you were using a dataform for the input.