I need to test if a formula returns the correct result if given the correct input values.

Indystick

Board Regular
I am a college professor who has students complete applied exams in Excel. I have created a "scorecard" that compares the output of formula in a cell to what I know to be the correct output, and if they're equal, assigns them points. For example, imagine the following simplified example:

Student's Work

AB
11Seed Value
22Formula in A2: =A1*2
34Formula in A3: =A2*2
48Formula in A4: =A3*2

<tbody>
</tbody>

Correct Answers
ABCDE
51Formula in A5: =A1ScoreTest Formula in Col D
62Formula in A6: =A5*21=IF(A6=A2,1,0)
74Formula in A7: =A6*21=IF(A7=A3,1,0)
88Formula in A8: =A7*21=IF(A8=A4,1,0)

<tbody>
</tbody>

This works fine in all cases for testing the value in cell A2 because A2 is a constant and the input for the student's formula and the scorecard comparison formula will always be the same.

However, problems emerge in the scorecard for evaluating cells A3:A4, because they are dependent on the formula in cell A2 returning the correct result. The reason this is a problem is because the formulas in A3:A4 could be the correct formulas (which is what I care about from a testing perspective), but return the wrong values because the formula in cell A2 is wrong:

Student's Work
AB
11Seed Value
21Formula in A2: =A1/A2
32Formula in A3: =A2*2
44Formula in A4: =A3*2

<tbody>
</tbody>

Scorecard
ABCD
51Formula: =A1ScoreTest Formula in Col D
62Formula in A6: =A5*20=IF(A6=A2,1,0)
74Formula in A7: =A6*20=IF(A7=A3,1,0)
88Formula in A8: =A7*20=IF(A8=A4,1,0)

<tbody>
</tbody>

Even though the formulas in cells A3 and A4 are correct, they return the wrong value because the precedent in A2 is wrong.