IF and some blank cells

felipe_

Hi! First of all, I'm a total noob with Excel, no shame on that. Sorry, not sorry.

So, I have some homework and I've been having problems with this:

=IF(OR(AND(F2="Fever",G2="Cough"),F2="Bronquitis",F2="Ear Pain",F2="Sore throat"),"Cold",(there's more here but apparently there aren't issues with this),"")

I was told that if F2 has Fever and G2 Cough, or F2 has Ear Pain or Sore Throat the "diagnostic" should be "Cold", but since not every cell has something in "G" is giving me the green rectangle. If I type something it disappears, but I guess I need to add something to tell the formula to ignore if the cell is blank.

Please help me :)

Excel Facts

Shade all formula cells
To shade all formula cells: Home, Find & Select, Formulas to select all formulas. Then apply a light fill color.
Hi,

Thanks for letting us know it's homework, I'll be happy to give you some guidance if I can.

From what I can see, if G2 is Empty (Blank), your formula shouldn't give you any "error" indications, it should probably just give you a "Blank" result in your formula cell (as you have it in your formula for "value if false") indicated below in Red.

Also, the part in brackets in your formula (indicated in Blue below) probably shouldn't be there (either this part or the red part don't belong), you would end up with "too many arguments" for the IF formula (unless that's another Nested IF).

=IF(OR(AND(F2="Fever",G2="Cough"),F2="Bronquitis",F2="Ear Pain",F2="Sore throat"),"Cold",(there's more here but apparently there aren't issues with this),"")

If you provide the full requirements of the assignment, then we can try and sort this out.

Upvote 0
Thank jtakw!

The requirements are:
Column F says "Main symptom" and G is "Other Symptoms"
-If Main Symptoms says "Fever" and Other Symptoms "Cough", or Main Symptoms has Ear Pain, Bronquitis or Sore Throat the "diagnostic" should be "Cold"
-If the MS is "Stomach ache" or "Colitis", the diagnostic is "Gastritis"