If dates between formula

oddsocks

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I'm new to Excel so please forgive me if I don't make sense.

I'm trying to show if a date is between a and b it shows c but if it's between d and e it shows f and so on. E.g. if between the start and end date then fees are due the 14th of the middle month of the next quarter.

I need to show
Quarter StartQuarter EndQuarter Due
01/01/202231/03/202214/05/2022
01/04/202230/06/202214/08/2022
01/07/202230/09/202214/11/2022
01/10/202231/12/202214/02/2023

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

What does custom number format of ;;; mean?
Three semi-colons will hide the value in the cell. Although most people use white font instead.
Are you trying to use this data to determine due dates for some other data that you're not showing us? Like if you have the date 03/05/2022 you want to return 14/08/2022?

If that is what you want then this formula would give you the due date of any arbitrary date:

Excel Formula:
=DATE(YEAR(A1),INT((MONTH(A1)+2)/3)*3+2,14)

This uses an algorithm instead of your data so it will work for any date in any year. The due date is assumed to be the 14th day in the second month after the end of the calendar quarter.

Upvote 0
Solution
Are you trying to use this data to determine due dates for some other data that you're not showing us? Like if you have the date 03/05/2022 you want to return 14/08/2022?

If that is what you want then this formula would give you the due date of any arbitrary date:

Excel Formula:
=DATE(YEAR(A1),INT((MONTH(A1)+2)/3)*3+2,14)

This uses an algorithm instead of your data so it will work for any date in any year. The due date is assumed to be the 14th day in the second month after the end of the calendar quarter.
Yes this sounds right! I will try it tomorrow thank you!

Upvote 0
You're welcome!