If Formula Based on Font Color

gsmith923

Board Regular
I need an IF formula to return a value if the font in the cell is red and a separate formula for the same to return the value if in green.

For example: for cells Q2:T3 I need an if formula to return the value in the cell that is red (=if(Q2:T3="red font", cell value with red font,""). There would only be 1 cell with red font, and there may be not be any cells with red font. I would need this formula to cover 25 dual rows: Q2:T3, Q4:T5 continuing down to Q42:T43.

I would need the same to identify a value in green font in the same grouping of cells noted above.

The same would then be needed for V2:Y3 all the way down to V42:Y43 and lastly for AA2:AD3 all the way down to AA42:AD43.

I am thinking VBA may be needed and I have very little experience with VBA. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Two things,
1) How is the color applied?
Detecting the color of a cell that has Conditional Formatting is a big challange. Its easier to test if the condition has been met than it is to determine what color the cell is. (When looking for red, how do you want cell formats that display negatives in red handled.

2)If the color is applied by the user changing the font color, my thought is that that is a lousy way to store data.
The reason that associating color with meaning is a bad idea comes out when I ask "what is the difference between a cell being red and a cell being green"? Excel allows words to be put on a computer screen. If one has to ask "what does that color mean?", then words should have been used in conjunction with colors.

While #2 is a short version of my "color should not be data" rant, the answer to #1 will help folks craft a UDF to meet your needs.

Upvote 0