IF formula based on text selection of another cell

Nicolas2465

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2021
Messages
2
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi guys,

I'm not that good at Excel but I've been tasked with making some improvements on a document.

In this case I am looking to create IF formulas (I believe that is the right one?) to show certain selections (competencies in this case, it's for recruiting) based on the position level that is selected.

In other words, based on the selection of cell B1 in sheet "Front End", to automatically populate Competencies 1-4 (A4, A9, A14, A19) based on the competencies that are listed for each level in the "Positions Levels" sheet (there are three level brackets with each having their own 4 competencies).

Another thing I'd like to do is not only to have the specific competencies automatically filled in for each level bracket as I just explained, but also have a different set of questions to choose from for each competency with different questions that could show up based on not only the competency but also the level the competency is attached to. For example, Valuing Differences under level 1-6 could have a choice of 5 questions and if you choose levels 7-8 and use Valuing Differences again (based on the formula discussed above it should also show up since it's present in all level brackets) it could have a choice of 5 questions again but maybe because it's in a higher level brackets we could have different questions or just 1-2 that are different from levels 1-6?

I hope I explained myself okay. I don't believe this document was created properly the first time around and I'm sure some excel experts could do it better for sure. Let me know your feedback on this it would be greatly appreciated

File: Interview Grid DDI - Level competency selection.xlsx
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Test for Multiple Conditions in IF?
Use AND(test, test, test, test) or OR(test, test, test, ...) as the logical_test argument of IF.

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
36,414
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

Cross-posting (posting the same question in more than one forum) is not against our rules, but the method of doing so is covered by #13 of the Forum Rules.

Be sure to follow & read the link at the end of the rule too!

Cross posted at: IF formula based on text selection of another cell
If you have posted the question at more places, please provide links to those as well.

If you do cross-post in the future and also provide links, then there shouldn’t be a problem.
 

Nicolas2465

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2021
Messages
2
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, my apologies I had no idea the sites were linked at all that never even occured to me.

What do I do now then? Can this be unlocked and I can edit my original post to add the cross-post link?
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
36,414
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
  3. 2016
  4. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
I already posted the link for you. If there are any other sites you have posted on, just add the links as a new post here.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,126,940
Messages
5,621,728
Members
415,853
Latest member
Newlife72

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top