If formula conditional formatting

gazmoz17

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

We have a colured PDF zone map...diff postcodes are different colours which are different prices with our transport company.
Transport map.JPG

Ive read that you cant do a conditional format and IF combined.

I want to include a formula in end col of current spreadsheet which changes colour per the colour code on the map. e.g. KW postcode goes light green (very top right of map).

I can then report on most popular sales postcode & relevant price incurred.

Im a beginner level excel really. Ive had a play with =IF(ISNUMBER(SEARCH("IV",A1)),"ZONE 7","")

Then was going to call the colours a zone, then from returned zone number set up 7 conditional formatting rules for the colour. But I dont know if I can have multiple postcodes within that formula. Im thinking surely theres a bteer way than this?

Only just joined & forum looks really good, Im sure I'll be posting regularly (simlarily to when discovered autohotkey)

Thanks in advance
Gareth

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.

jasonb75

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Im thinking surely theres a bteer way than this?
I would have to agree with that, but without the nuances, finding that way would be difficult.

=IF(OR(ISNUMBER(SEARCH({"IV","KW"},A1))),"ZONE 7","") would work with multiple searches at once, but something to be aware of is that using "W" as the string to find would also be matched to "KW" in A1, the same error would be applicable to any single letter postcode district in A1.

What would be better is to have all of the postcode regions listed in a single column (in a separate sheet if desired) then use vlookup with exact match to identify the region and return the zone.