If function with unique function

RAJESH1960

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
443
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello guys,
I have a unique question. Hope you understand it and will help me to know how and whether this is possible at all...
Book1
ABCDEFGH
1Cash & CarryCash & CarryCash & Carry
2Sunday & MondaySunday & MondaySunday & Monday
3January & FebruaryJanuary & FebruaryJanuary & February
4ABC & Co.ABC & Co.ABC & Co.
5=IF(A2="","",A2)
6Hello Guys,
7In C column I want & in place of & in all rows as shown in column F
8I don’t want to use the find replace function as the column C will be in another sheet and will be protected
9Is this possible….?
10
11
12
13
Sheet1
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
C1:C4C1=IF(A1="","",A1)
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,200
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
How about
Excel Formula:
=SUBSTITUTE(A1,"&","&")
 
Solution

jasonb75

Well-known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2008
Messages
12,391
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

RAJESH1960

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
443
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
How about
Excel Formula:
=SUBSTITUTE(A1,"&","&")
=IF(A1="","",SUBSTITUTE(A1,"&","&"))
Got it. Thanks Fluff😀
I'm not seeing where 'unique' comes into the question,
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
C1:C4C1=IF(A1="","",A1)
F1:F4F1=SUBSTITUTE(C1,"&","&")


Also, it would be preferable if you type your question into your post, not your example sheet.
As I am learning and trying new things, I find everything unique. Thanks Jasonb
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,200
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

You don't need the If statement. If A1 is blank the substitute function will return nothing.
 

RAJESH1960

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
443
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
You don't need the If statement. If A1 is blank the substitute function will return nothing.
Wow! Good to know... I have used the if function in more than 20 columns. This is getting more interesting and easier.😂 Thanks for the update
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
55,200
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
My pleasure.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,126,888
Messages
5,621,426
Members
415,839
Latest member
Pollydooner

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top