Importing and organizing my data into a database

mgeerts

I hate to make my first post an "I can't do this, help me do this" post, but here I am; apologies in advance for being a newb, I'll do my best to repay karma with interest afterward.

I have a data set from a series of tests that I've performed and I'm trying to analyze my results. I have been agonizing over this in Excel and I think I'd be better off trying to use a database application and Access seemed to be the place to start. Allow me to try to describe the data, which is located in CSV files.

Each CSV file is a Test (a configuration of the apparatus)
Each Test has 1000 iterations.
An Iteration is stored as one line with some summary data (5 comma separated summary values), followed by 100 lines of test results (3 comma separated values per line).

My goal is to have:
1) a table of test samples: SampleIndex, Iteration, valueA, valueB, valueC
2) a table of iterations: IterationIndex, Test, summaryValue1, summaryValue2, summaryValue3, summaryValue4, summaryValue5
3) a table of tests: TestIndex, "Test Parameters" (manually entered after import)

So in case I've said anything ambiguous, here's a rundown of the data structure said another way:
Each Test is referenced by 1000 Iterations and has a string attributed to it
Each Iteration is referenced by 100 Samples and has 5 summaryValues attributed to it
Each Sample has 3 values attributed to it

Besides the .csv's where each file is a Test I do have this broken up in an excel workbook where each Sheet is a test, but then the Iteration and Sample data is organized as 1 row describing the iteration summary and 100 rows describing the sampled results, repeated 1000 times. I can switch around the presentation of data however is best to get it into the database proposed above. My end-game is to be able to plot graphs of (for example) valueA vs valueB in Test1 for all iterations where summaryValue2 is "string", or some such manipulation.