Importing data from one workbook to another, based on the month

schmo95

I'm still relatively new to VBA so could really appreciate some help!

There are a few conditions i need to be fulfilled so i'll do my best to cover everything! I have a table in my Master work book, an example of which I have given below (there are hundreds of rows in reality). I manually have to update this on a monthly basis with the new months figures (a long copy and paste job). The new monthly figures are emailed to me in 5 separate workbooks. In the example, the number is an example of which workbook the data is coming from, ie 1a from the first workbook i receive, 2 from the 2nd workbeek etc etc.

The idea is that i will save these files locally (with the naming convention Workbook 1 - Jun-15, Workbook 2 - Jun-15), then have a macro in place so i can press a button and 'update' the master spreadsheet. The macro will then import the appropriate data (based on the month) from the workbooks received into the appropriate columns (again, correct month) in the Master work book. The difficulty is that the column the file which needs to be update changes each month, hence i need the code to recognize which month the data is for and update the appropriate column. I was thinking that i could maybe use the naming convention of the files to identify the correct column to update to? Although if there is a better suggestion i'm welcome to ideas.

Hopefully this is enough info, if I've missed anything out i'll be happy to answer questions. If anyone has any ideas the help would be greatly appreciated :)

ServiceJun-15Jul-15Aug-15Sep-15Oct-15
example 1a99%97%
example 1b100%85%
example 1c99%99%
example 2a90%100%
example 2b100%100%
example 3a100%100%
example 3b100%100%
example 3c100%99%
example 4a100%87%
example 5a100%98%
example 5b100%100%

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.

Forum statistics

Threads