Index match that pulls multiple rows and columns

rjoiner3

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I am trying to figure out what I could do to have excel automatically populate all four columns, not just one value, based upon the year, the company, and both of them combined. I made this spreadsheet as an example as it most closely relates to what I need it to do for a project of mine at work. I have a large master set with all of the unsorted data in it. I break it out into separate divisions in order to calculate returns based off each investment, each year, and then each investment in each respective year (and then I put everything in a matrix and it works great). The only problem I have run into now is every time I need to add a new investor and their return to the list, I have to add that one person four separate times into each division I have it broken out into. I am looking for a way to have excel automatically pull all four columns from the master list to the broken out division based on selective criteria. If you can help I greatly appreciate it.. please let me know how to type out the function exactly. See the attached picture to get a better idea of what I am talking about in case I didn't explain it well enough. Thanks so much, Ryan.

Attachments

• Example .png
    Example .png
    81 KB · Views: 16

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
Welcome to the MrExcel Message Board!

Cross-posting (posting the same question in more than one forum) is not against our rules, but the method of doing so is covered by #13 of the Forum Rules.

Be sure to follow & read the link at the end of the rule too!

Cross posted at: Excel index match retrieving multiple columns of data
If you have posted the question at more places, please provide links to those as well.

If you do cross-post in the future and also provide links, then there shouldn’t be a problem.

Upvote 0

Upvote 0