Index Match to translate to VBA

GonzoB

Hi Helpers,

I have an index-match formula to program in VBA:
=INDEX(Export!$B$2:$H$1000,MATCH(1,(Export!$B$2=B2)*(Export!$H$2="US"),0),5)

I have two sheets in my excel, Export and Result. On tab Result I have a column (B2) with values which need to match with the same type of values from tab Export. This is the first criteria in the match formula. The second criteria is simple, the country need to be US.

I have 170 000 records on tab Export so I'm trying to find the most effective way to program this in VBA. I'm planning to turn off screen updating, automated calculations and events in the macro code. After browsing on forums the conclusion I came to is that in the VBA I need to use Listobjects to bring the data into the memory, instead of using the data on the Sheets. I was trying to program this but I'm new to VBA and got nowhere.

Can somebody help me with the script which does the work? It would be extremely helpful.
Thanks in advance.

Hi Alex,

thanks for the code. I tried it and it does not populate the target field on the Results tab. Do you know why?

For j = 1 To UBound(aryResult, 1)
If Dic.exists(aryResult(j, 1)) Then
aryResult(j, 2) = Dic(aryResult(j, 1))
Else
aryResult(j, 2) = ""
End If
Next j

aryResult = rngResult.Value
Your last line is not the last line I supplied. My last line was:-
rngResult = aryResult

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
Your last line is not the last line I supplied. My last line was:-
rngResult = aryResult
Indeed. Now I have the same code what you have sent. The target cells are still left empty. When I change this part of the code:

Else
aryResult(j, 2) = ""
End If

to this:

Else
aryResult(j, 2) = "X"
End If