Insert a space into phone numbers

worksop

Hi, I am new to VBA and trying to get to grips with it.
I have a large list of phone numbers that are in different formats i.e. 01234 456 789, or 01234 456789 ect.
I have managed to clear all spaces out to leave continuous numbers, now I want to insert a space after 5th digit of the area code and 3rd digit of the number i.e. 01234 245 567.
Is there a way insert spaces in the current cell? with out Concatenate or copying to other cells.
Thanks

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
This macro will handle everything... it removes the spaces (if any) from the original data and then inserts the spaces where you want them. Note... you did not say where your phone numbers were located at, so I assumed Column A starting at Row 1, change the red highlighted part as needed...
Code:
Sub FixPhoneNumbers()
  With Range("[B][COLOR="#FF0000"]A1[/COLOR][/B]", Cells(Rows.Count, "[B][COLOR="#FF0000"]A[/COLOR][/B]").End(xlUp))
    .Replace " ", "", xlPart, , , , False, False
    .Value = Evaluate("TEXT(" & .Address & ",""0000 000 0000"")")
  End With
End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi Rick, I have tried it out but unfortunately all the numbers are converted to 0000, 000, 000.
Is there a way to can I use active cell or some other reference?.
Thanks in advance.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

If you have already stripped out the spaces, see how this one goes.
Code:
Sub FormatPhoneNumbers1()
  With Range("A1", Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp))
    .Value = Evaluate(Replace("if(#="""","""",text(#,""00000 000 000""))", "#", .Address))
  End With
End Sub

If you want the code to do the 'space-stripping' as well as the formatting on your raw data, try
Code:
Sub FormatPhoneNumbers2()
    .Value = Evaluate(Replace("if(#="""","""",text(substitute(#,"" "",""""),""00000 000 000""))", "#", .Address))
  End With
End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi Peter_SSs.