Inserting formula using VBA

Andman0

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi All,

I'm trying to make a command which automatically inserts a row into the pictured sheet below with formulas in each cell, and I'm not quite sure how to have the command input the right cell reference into the formulas; I want it to reference a cell in the active cell's row and a specific column.

For instance, the formula in cell A4 is: =ROW(A4)-(1+COUNTBLANK(OFFSET(A4,ROW($A$1)-ROW(A4),0):OFFSET(A4,-1,0))), which calculates the number of the line item, not including the top row or any header rows.
When I hit the "insert row" command button with the current active cell somewhere in row 4, I'd want it to create a new row with that formula in A4, and if the active cell were in row 5 I'd want the A4 references to be A5.

I'm rather new to VBA so I apologize if this is trivial to accomplish and I'm just missing something, thank you!

Screenshot 2022-11-18 154723.png

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
Wouldn't it be simpler if A2 on down had =Row()-1 as a formula, then if the code inserts a row, set the cell formula to =Row()-1?
Your formula looks much more complicated for the same thing. However, I chose -1 because you only show 1 header row. I'm guessing your existing code already handles the row insertion, so the missing piece is setting the cell formula in A in that row?
Maybe I'm not grasping the whole picture...

Upvote 0
Wouldn't it be simpler if A2 on down had =Row()-1 as a formula, then if the code inserts a row, set the cell formula to =Row()-1?
Your formula looks much more complicated for the same thing. However, I chose -1 because you only show 1 header row. I'm guessing your existing code already handles the row insertion, so the missing piece is setting the cell formula in A in that row?
Maybe I'm not grasping the whole picture...
Hi,