Intelligent Document Tracker - Please Help!

liamthefiends

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Good morning, Afternoon or Evening,

I am an engineer and have recently changed the company I work for. At my old place of work we had a very clever engineering document tracker, and I am trying to re-invent this at my new place of work to help everything stay organised when we are busy. However, I am having great difficulty getting my head around how the author of the excel sheet achieved this at my previous work.

I want to learn to walk before I try running so I just want to get the most basic function working first, of which I will explain below.

So as an engineering company, suppliers of equipment send us documents. The first time the supplier sends the document it is on revision A or 0 (depending on supplier). We then mark up any comments on the document and send it back to the supplier. The supplier then sends us the document as revision B or 1 (again depending on supplier). This process repeats until all parties are happy, sometimes up to revision G (or 5) and beyond. On a project there could be multiple suppliers with 50 documents each so a good spreadsheet is essential to keep track of this.

We have a basic spreadsheet that tracks things entirely by manual data entry, no calculations or formulas. This is where I would like to add some intelligence.