Introduction to VBA and Excel (for a philosopher)

Scylax

Hi all,

If you were to recommend one book, website, or series of Youtube videos to a philosopher buddy for a crash-course in VBA, what would you recommend?

First post, I do hope I've posted in the right place and according to community guidelines. I did find a similar post here but felt it had a different general thrust than my own question.

To expand a little: I'm just starting to use Excel and VBA on a number of projects, and am very excited about the possibilities. Overall, I'm quite new to using computers for anything other than the very basics (only about 3 years now, before that just email, google, and word, like yer grandma). However, I have a degree in history from an earlier, more care-free time, and my chief areas of study were the history of science, mathematics, and philosophy.

In other words, I'm this odd egg in that once I'm able to peel back the jargon, understanding the abstraction underpinning programming languages comes pretty naturally. The problem is, all the resources I find are more practically oriented, aimed at people who just want to learn how to compile reports in the office, "Excel for Dummies," that sort of thing. I'm looking for something that will help me get the concepts, the abstractions.

Now, I realize I actually need to go up the tree on this, and learn about more general types of programming. I've been working through the really quite good stuff on codeschool.org but that's more general material about object-oriented programming as exemplified by several popular languages. But I'm wondering if anyone out there knows of any materials as I'm describing that are specific to Excel, or VBA?

Many thanks,

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
I've enjoyed several over the years: