Is it possible to create a drop-down list with a custom, typeable response option?

RedMisterExcel

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey everyone, how are you all doing? This is my first time here, so please be gentle.

No, but seriously, I need help. I want to know if it's possible to create a drop-down list that provides an option for someone to click and begin to type a custom response in the space. Thanks guys!

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
@RedMisterExcel, welcome to the Forum.
Could you explain what you're trying to do in more detail?
Hey man, so you know how you can use data validation to create a drop-down list with specific options? Well, I want one of those options to be a field that allows you to type a custom response in the field where the other drop down list items would appear.

Upvote 0
Could you give an example?

what do you mean by field?

this drop down is in another cell?
1635302797504.png

So, see how this data validation list creates a drop-down menu allowing me to pick from one of the entries? I want one of those entries to be something like "enter custom response" or "other", and when the user clicks that, it allows them to type text in the field where the entry would have appeared normally (i.e., where the word "green" is right now). Does that help?

Upvote 0
Let's say you pick "other", then you want to type anything in the cell without any restriction? or you want a different data validation list to appear?

Upvote 0
Let's say you pick "other", then you want to type anything in the cell without any restriction? or you want a different data validation list to appear?
Type anything in the cell without any restriction. Like a custom response.

Upvote 0
You can set this:
On Data Validation: on the Error Alert tab, remove the check mark to the "Show error alert after invalid data is entered box".