Is there a way to run a mailmerge that merges multiple rows into a table based on a key field?

mps80y

I am trying to do a mail merge from an excel file that has multiple rows for each employee. Each row lists an application or process they are not qualified for. The data is provided in an excel document and currently we are copying and pasting it into a word document to then sending to employees for them to undertake the training.

Basically I want some kind of check against the Employee_ID field and add to the table any courses listed on the excel document for that Employee_ID. When there are no more records then start a new page in the mail merge with the next Employee_ID and continue to do the same until all data is merged.

The excel file will be sorted using the Employee_ID field which is the key field as it unique to each Employee

Is there a way to do this as a mail merge?

My sample files are here RK Mail Merge - Google Drive

Sorry - I'm really new to this kind of mail merge and can't seem to find anything similar based on the searches I've done. I hope it makes sense - any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :)

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Did you work out how to do this and if so, what was the best course of action?
I have a very similar document to create and have been struggling to find instructions that work for this type of document.

I would really appreciate your feedback.

Upvote 0
Hi there, not sure if you've already solved this but I think these links might help:

Database fields under Directory merge might be your solution, or you can also use the Merge add-ins stated in the links.
I've recently had this issue and Database fields really helped me-- though, if you use them in e-mail mail merge, you'd have to refresh for each person to be sent out.

Hope this helps!

Upvote 0