đź“Ł Is this even possible?!!! Convert one schedule layout to another

deliddell

Office Version
  1. 2021
Platform
  1. MacOS
Hello Everyone!

I am a stage manager for a live entertainment production. I have implemented a new scheduling system called Virtual Callboard and am hitting a few obstacles with trying to convert the old system to the new one.

When I create a draft schedule to send to managers to review before publishing it to the entire company, the managers have a current spreadsheet format that they prefer. Although Virtual Callboard does export the draft schedule to a csv, the managers are not thrilled with the layout and would like it to look more similar to what they are used to.

Is there any way to create a macro (or anything else) that would convert the Schedule Draft Export to the Schedule Target Layout? I've attached both examples. The schedule data is not the same in both but it gives you an idea of the layout.

I was wondering if it's possible to separate the schedule into sections according to date, title each section with the corresponding date, and clean up the date/time format.

Any help/suggestions/comments would be immensely appreciated!

Thanks... David

Also asked here đź“Ł Is this even possible?!! Convert one schedule to another

Convert from this...
1670527561914.png

...to this!
1670527623448.png

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
With the data you provided in the "from this..." sheet, there is no way to determine the bolding, the italics, the coloring, etc. Also, the carps, R, LX are in the Notes column but don't display. And you don't do anything with the names in Users Called. But this should get you going. Make sure the "from this..." worksheet is named Draft Schedule Export.

VBA Code:
Sub ConvertSchedule()

Dim newFormatLine As Double
Dim curentDate As String
Dim mergestring As String