Is this process doable or am I in clock cuckoo land?

TheRedCardinal

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
133
I run a team that inherited hugely manual processes from my predecessor. I want to automate these as much as possible.

I want to start by removing the manual steps in our Intrastat process. For those outside the EU, this is a statistical reporting requirement in the EU of goods moved between businesses.

I initially wanted to explain the current process but it is not helpful. So I have linked to the file I created this morning on how I would like this process to work.

Link to my file in Google Drive

There are a lot of individual challenges inside the workbook, and I'm having trouble conceptualising how to do some of the steps.

In particular I am unsure how to work with the Pivot tables and extract the data I need for the subsequent steps.

Also getting the process right for the removing duplicates is causing me some difficulties.

So at a nebulous level, is there any reason why I can't achieve the things I've set out in the attached workbook?

Thanks for all the help that may come my way!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple

mole999

Moderator
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
10,368
Office Version
2019, 2016, 2013
Platform
Windows
you could add the steps you want in here as you have on line, and the file would serve as the visual, if each was number then people could comment on what might not be doable
 

TheRedCardinal

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
133
Thanks!

My main issue at the moment is working with the pivot tables. The tests that are on 2. Pivot Data are the ones I can't even start to work on. Also, extracting the data in the Final Pivot into the final CSV tab. I am not comfortable enough with pivot tables to fully understand it yet.
 

mole999

Moderator
Joined
Oct 23, 2004
Messages
10,368
Office Version
2019, 2016, 2013
Platform
Windows
a pivot for showing data isn't actually that bad, it produces a table that comes from you data in grouped values. I get lost when I know I can add sums and totals in a structured way so I don't use it like that from my needs. You can't just refer to a cell for future data as you don't know where that cell (row/column) might be after you have added data. If its important to have that automatically then i use supplemental index/match or vlookup to do that, in which case it may have already been in the original data
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,781
Messages
5,488,844
Members
407,658
Latest member
Arias610

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Timer in VBA - Stop, Start, Pause and Reset
    [CODE=vba][/CODE] Option Explicit Dim CmdStop As Boolean Dim Paused As Boolean Dim Start Dim TimerValue As Date Dim pausedTime As Date Sub...
  • how to updates multiple rows in muliselect listbox
    Hello everyone. I need help with below code. code is only chaning 1st row in mulitiselect list box. i know issue with code...
  • Delete Row from Table
    I am trying to delete a row from a table using VBA using a named range to find what I need to delete. My Range is finding the right cell. In the...
  • Assigning to a variable
    I have a for each block where I want to assign the value in column 5 of the found row to the variable Serv. [CODE=vba] For Each ws In...
  • Way to verify information
    Hi All, I don't know what to call this formula, and therefore can't search. I have a spreadsheet with information I want to reference...
  • Active Cell Address – Inactive Sheet
    How to use VBA to get the cell address of the active cell in an inactive worksheet and then place that cell address in a location on the current...
Top