JWalker Menu FaceID xla

Skippy

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
194
I re-organized my files and moved JWalker's faceids.xla to a different location. When I opened Excel, I got a message that the xla could not be found. No problem. I went into the add-ins menu item and re-specified it's location. It loads as a submenu item under Tools. When I leave Excel and open it again, I get the message that the xla can't be found. I checked under Tools and the FaceID submenu has disappeared. Any reason why Excel "loses" the location of the xla?
 

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
I wouldn't think so. When you first open Excel, clear out the error message. Go to Tools | Addins, uncheck J-Walk's addin, click Ok. Close Excel, reopen, Tools | Addins, reinstall J-Walk's addin. Close Excel, reopen. Same problem?
 

Skippy

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
194
That's what I originally tried so decided to post here in case someone could help. Perplexing indeed.
 

Skippy

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
194
I just noticed something. Even though I had gone through the steps as described by firefytr, when I reopen Excel, the error message is pointing to the old location of the xla (even though I had specified a new location). As a short-term fix, I'll put it back in the old location. But would very interested if someone could explain what is happening.
 

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
When you clear out the addin with the bad path, does it give you the prompt that it can no longer be found, asking if you want to clear the addin from the list? This is what you need to see.
 

Skippy

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
194
firefytr said:
When you clear out the addin with the bad path, does it give you the prompt that it can no longer be found, asking if you want to clear the addin from the list? This is what you need to see.
Yes it does and confirms that it can't find the file. Note my last post about the short-term fix.
 

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
Try disabling all addins, closing excel, opening excel, enabling only J-Walk's addin. Still get the error after that?
 

Skippy

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 3, 2002
Messages
194
firefytr said:
Try disabling all addins, closing excel, opening excel, enabling only J-Walk's addin. Still get the error after that?
That worked! What happened?
 

Zack Barresse

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Dec 9, 2003
Messages
10,881
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
Sometimes Excel gets a screw loose and it helps to reset everything. Can't really give any specifics as I'm not too sure myself. Computers do funny things sometimes.

Glad to help!
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,171,066
Messages
5,873,588
Members
432,985
Latest member
leahw

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top