Keyboard locked after shortcuts

Starrbuckk

Hi,

I've been having a problem for a while throughout on different laptops (HP, Asus, Lenovo) and never seem to find a solution for it.
What happens is that after a while working on excel, when i issue a keyboard shortcut like paint a cell, turn text bold, copy paste, freeze panes, etc... excel stops accepting keyboard inputs except F1 (Help) and F6 (Dont know what it is). If i press one of these 2 then excel unlocks and starts accepting other keyboard inputs, otherwise i have to switch between applications or another open excel workbook to temporarily solve the issue.
The problem is that after it starts... it happens every time i use a keyboard shortcut, becoming a frustration to work.
I saw some posts about this problem from some time ago but never a solution.
I'm new to diagnostics so if you want me to give you something please do write the instructions on how i can obtain the information you need.

Thank you all in advance.

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
What add-ins do you have installed? If you open Excel in safe mode by holding down the Ctrl key while starting the application, does the problem persist?

Starrbuckk

What add-ins do you have installed? If you open Excel in safe mode by holding down the Ctrl key while starting the application, does the problem persist?

I don't have any add-ins installed. I will have to test in safe mode, but something new is ocurring now.